The Mackey House, now called the Mabel B. Little House is the "only home built in the original Greenwood residential district of the 1920s that still stands." The home was saved from "urban renewal" demolitions in the 1970s by a foresighted group of African-American leaders, which included J. Homer Johnson, Oklahoma State Representative Don Ross, Thelma Whitlow and Mabel B. Little.
Sam and Lucy Mackey who built the house were not highly paid professionals, but rather made their living doing “domestic and yard work for prominent white Tulsans.” Sam and Lucy Mackey built their first home, a simple wood-framed structure at 327 North Greenwood Ave. Their house was destroyed in the riot, but they “vowed to rebuild.”
In 1926 the Mackey’s built a “stately two-story brick house” with a number of modern, state of the art features such as walk-in closets. After being saved from demolition the Mackey’s home was restored and renamed the Mabel B. Little Heritage House in 1986. It is now maintained by the North Tulsa Heritage Foundation and is open to the public for viewing.
As featured in "Tulsa's Historic Greenwood District" written by Hannibal Johnson and published by Arcadia Publishing, best known for its iconic "Images of America" series, which chronicles the history of small towns and downtowns across the country.