Built in 1915 by St. Louis developer S. Gallais, the Kennedy Building stands at 321 South Boston. Pioneer Tulsa doctor Samuel Grant Kennedy purchased the structure and tripled its size. He left the word "Gallais" over the south entry.
Kennedy was a charter member and the first director of the Commercial Club, a precursor to the Tulsa Chamber of Commerce. He also served on the city council and on bodies that helped to secure a railroad service and spearhead the Spavinaw Water Project. Kennedy's signature graces the original charter for the City of Tulsa.
The lion-headed gargoyles above the doors once held rings in their mouths to support the original canopy. The 1980 renovation enclosed the original "C" shaped building creating a 10-story atrium and dramatic new lobby spaces, although leaving the lobby's original Italian and Vermont marble floors and walls.
As featured in "Tulsa's Historic Greenwood District" written by Hannibal Johnson and published by Arcadia Publishing, best known for its iconic "Images of America" series, which chronicles the history of small towns and downtowns across the country.